Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Substr throws an ERROR. Any alternatives? Post 302193080 by naseert on Thursday 8th of May 2008 12:27:34 PM
Old 05-08-2008
Thank you..

Thanks Hemangjan.. !!! Thanks a lot.. It worked.. Yay...!!!
Smilie

One more question,

if [ $a = $b ]
then
echo SUCCESS
fi

If I want to case-insensitive-compare these two variables, what should I use?/

Sorry to ask these dumb questions. I'm a newbie to SHELL SCRIPTING..

:-(

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

fwrite throws segmentation fault

Code : function sSaveTFFile ....................... iRetCode = link (caCurrentFilename, caBackupFilename); if (iRetCode == -1) { ERR_MSG2(LOG_ALERT, "Can't move %s to %s", caCurrentFilename, caBackupFilename); return(FAILURE); } iRetCode = unlink... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: fermisoft
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep throws in dashes?

Hey guys, I'm trying to grep for two things out of a file and I got that working but why is it randomly throwing "--" in the output? Is there a simple way to get rid of them? It only seems to do it when the line above what im looking for has numbers in it. $ egrep -i -B 1... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kingdbag
3 Replies

3. AIX

Copying to tape drive throws error

Hi All I am trying to copy files present in a partition (server 2) which is mounted to a different server (server 1) as tape drive is connected to it. I ran the below command to copy files within a partition: svr01:root:/sunfileserver> tar -cvf * a <foldername>/<filename>/<filename> a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vathsan
4 Replies

4. Forum Support Area for Unregistered Users & Account Problems

Search throws a wobbly