Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers search for a word and it's occurance at the output Post 302191965 by legendofanatoli on Monday 5th of May 2008 04:52:50 PM
Old 05-05-2008
thx a lot my friend
it's working

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

String search - Command to find second occurance

Hi, I am new to Unix world. Is there any command which can directly return the second occurance of a particular string in a file? Basically, I want to read the contents of the file from the second occurance of a particualr string. Can be implemented using a loop, but am just wondering if there... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: saurabhsinha23
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

search and replace the last occurance of a match in a file

HI please let me know if there is any command to search and replace only the last occurence of a string in aline. Eg: " This cat is a cat with a tail longer of all cat." I need to replace only the last "cat" in the above line. thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: harikris614
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find frequent occurance of a word in a line?

File_source.DAT 1|abc|abc|abc|abc|abc 2|abc|abc|efg|efg|def 3|abc|bcd|cde|def|efg 4|abc|abc|abc|def|efg ========================= Please help me to solve this as below using UNIX. ========================= File_output.DAT "1"|"abc" - as... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: scpyraj
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search and replace only the first occurance

Hi, I need to search a string and replace with nothing, but only the First occurring string using sed/perl/awk (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: suraj.sheikh
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

word search in output