Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: How to negate grep result?
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to negate grep result? Post 302191775 by danmero on Sunday 4th of May 2008 09:12:06 PM
Old 05-04-2008
You should take a look over man find
Tips: Find directory that contain the file message.jar
Code:
find /usr -type f -name "message.jar" -exec dirname {} \;

Once you read the manual you will understand how to fix the loop.

Success

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To have a numeric result from grep

I am new to unix. i need to know how to use grep to grep and expression from a file. and pass the result as a 0 for found and 1 for not found. I can only go up to grep 'Checking Subscription Status' ranos.log. Please help. Thank you. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hak Dee
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep to handle a 0 result

Hi guys, I have the following grep command in a script to search through a file for a string and return its count, and it works fine for when the string exists: grep "string" file.txt | wc However, sometimes the result will be 0 and I want the script to take this as the result. Right now... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ocelot
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

append a string to a grep result

hello, iostat -En | grep Vendor | grep -v DV | awk '{print $1 $2}' | sort -u returns Vendor:HP I want to append Disk to it. i.e.: Disk Vendor:HP how to do that? thanks (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: melanie_pfefer
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

diaplaying the grep result

Hi, My code is like this if swlist -a revision 2>/dev/null | grep ABC 2>/dev/null then echo "Found Above mentioned ABC Version, please remove it first..." fi This is displaying the result to the screen. i want to first suppress that and for that i wrote the below... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rag84dec
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting