Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: finding string at runtime
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting finding string at runtime Post 302190908 by inderpunj on Wednesday 30th of April 2008 11:05:43 PM
Old 05-01-2008
finding string at runtime

Hi

I am creating a script in shell (sh), in which i will enter a string at runtime. let i will enter the string asdfergtdev_DEV2(or DEV,DEV3,DEV1 etc). i want it will find DEV2(it will be only find DEV2 at last 4 digit 3 in case only DEV,no metter if before it, there is dev) and append _qqq01 at end like sdfergtdev_DEV2_qqq01. if there is not DEV at the end it will append _aa01
for exp :- sdfergtdev123a_RC01.

Please help !
Thanks,
Inder

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding part of a string

Hi I am very new to KSH programming and need some help with finding a string in an error log currently i am doing cat FTP_LOG.lis | grep Warning which gives me Warning: Authentication failed. Remaining authentication methods: 'publickey,pas I want to only pick up the test between the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: DAFNIX
4 Replies

2. Programming

finding folders in runtime

hi everyone i have two folders. one is ramesh(folder) and other is ramesh1(sub folder of ramesh) i have to find the second(ramesh1)folder name in runtime. please tell me the way to find this. thank you ramesh (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ramesh.jella
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with finding a string

Hello folks I have a text file abcd.txt and has a line starting with number '8'. I have a string in this line starting at position 'a' to position 'b' also this string is a number and have to be reduced by 1. there is also a problem that it has to be padded with zeros to make the string... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandyg
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding lines only between a certain string