Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Vector Traversing
Top Forums Programming Vector Traversing Post 302190679 by jim mcnamara on Wednesday 30th of April 2008 08:20:48 AM
Old 04-30-2008
Are you trying to eliminate duplicates, sort or what?
Using search.h and maybe lsearch() or hsearch() will do what you need. If the data is redundant, hsearch() is not the best choice.

I personally deal with stuff like this by creating an array of pointers, then sorting the array using qsort, which allows one to access an element with bsearch() using a key. Sorting an array of structs is too expensive. But it is not clear what you need.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Traversing a file system

I'm pretty new at this UNIX stuff, and this may be a simple question but I'm kind of stuck :confused: Let's say I have a large directory structure of .essay files, where I saved all of the essays that I did over the last few years. Not all of the .essay files are in the same directory (all... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hooj
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Traversing thru dirs and deleting files based on date

Hi Folks I am pretty new to unix and shellscripting. I need help on writing logic on traversing recursively through a set of directories under a top-level folder and delete files(mostly text) which are 1 month old. Can you people help me on this? Thanks a lot Ravi (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravi2082
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Traversing Pascal/Delphi code using GVim

Hi, I am using GVim as editor... and i am viewing code of pascal/ delphi.. my problem is its difficult to use GVim as source code browser.... normally ctags helps to traverse in vim for c/c++.. is there anything like that for pascal/ delphi to minimise this complication of each... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: SankarV
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

script for traversing directory