Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX How can I authorize a non-root user to do a system backup with 'mksysb'? Post 302190646 by AIX122 on Wednesday 30th of April 2008 06:34:42 AM
Old 04-30-2008
How can I authorize a non-root user to do a system backup with 'mksysb'?

I use AIX 5.2 I want to allow a non-root user to do a system backup with 'mksysb' command.
I try to add 'ManageBackup' Role to that non-root user but it have an error "ksh: mksysb: 0403-006 Execute permission denied."
What should I do?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

AIX v.5.1 - system and user data backup

Hi everyone, I have no AIX experience at all. We have an IBM Server running AIX v.5.1. The server has a DDS-4 tape drive. I need to take complete system and user data backup.Should be able to restore the system and the user data in the event of system corruption or disaster. I was told that for... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sezgin
5 Replies

2. AIX

mksysb backup

How I can to obtain a full Backup of a AIX server with the command "mksysb"?? what is the correct form? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: granador
1 Replies

3. AIX

mksysb backup

hi guys, i just want to take my server's mksysb backup through dvd-rom.but am having the doubt that, while am taking the mksysb backup in image it shows 8GB. So can i confirm that it takes 2 dvds and after writing in 1st cd it will ask for 2nd cd?????? please help me out. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rrlog
1 Replies

4. AIX

Need to take MKSYSB backup

Hi, Can any one suggest me how to take the mksysb backup in CD (VCD/DVD). I have tried like #mkcd -d /dev/cd0, but its not working. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: oprakash
3 Replies

5. AIX

mksysb backup