Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting syntex error script any suggestions Post 302190540 by yongitz on Wednesday 30th of April 2008 01:53:32 AM
Old 04-30-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kim187
a script with prompts user and returns the value of there home directory and full name

#!/bin/bash

echo "please enter your login ID"

read login_id

while $login_id -ne `grep $login_id /etc/passwd | cut -f1 -d:`

is they anything wrong with it
Apart from the useless use of grep and cut, I guess there is something wrong with your expression as you're comparing strings and test operator should be for strings is "!=" instead of "-ne". Correct me guys if I am wrong as I am still a newbie. Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

syntex error

hi I am try to run following script using c-shell but i get the following syntex error:- ----script--- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- #!/bin/csh echo "system monitor" echo " 1) system paging 2) system file inf. 3) system... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: neer45
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Performance problem with my script ...suggestions pls

Hi , I have included my script below, pls read thro this req. I want my script to run for every hour , the problem is I CANNOT USE CRONTAB which is prohibited inside the company. My script does what it is supposed to do (to determine the memory and then send a email if it crosses a certain... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vivsiv
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need suggestions about a datecheck script

I'm currently running a script that checks to see if a laptop is on the network, and if it is it backs up, if not it retries it later. Anyway, our backup scheduling has changed. I need to check if today's date is the Thursday after the first Wednesday of every month. This is made slightly more... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tsmurray