Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Pattern Replacement
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Pattern Replacement Post 302189053 by era on Friday 25th of April 2008 12:15:10 AM
Old 04-25-2008
What's the echo for? Why not just

Code:
awk '{ gsub(/calculta/, "kolkata) }1' "$files" >"$files"

... within the same while loop?

In particular, echo on some systems does a fair amount of backslash parsing etc, which will cause undesired changes in the output.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

matching pattern and replacement

Hi I am trying to look for a view name in create view statement and then replace this view name with VW_ in grants line in my ddl file . cat dim_provider.sql | grep -i "create view" | while read f1 f2 f3 f4 f5 f6 f7 f8 f9 do new_vw=` echo "$f3" | cut -d "." -f2... (32 Replies)
Discussion started by: capri_drm
32 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk pattern replacement

Hi I'm a newbie in unix and I'm having trouble in creating a script. I want to search for a pattern '_good' and insert new lines that contains '_bad', '_med', '_fail' while also ensure that the line contains _good is removed here some of the data UPDATE SCHOOL SET GRADE =... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sexyTrojan
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Date Pattern Match (replacement string)

Hello, i am splitting files and sometimes the string of the pattern doesnt exist in the input file it starts for example with 00:00:01. So the output is completely desorganized, is there any way of putting a replacement string in the pattern so it will grab all the times from 00:**:** to first... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: x-plicit78
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

String replacement when particular pattern matches in a file