Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: BASH -- sed -- variable
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting BASH -- sed -- variable Post 302188549 by Imajean on Wednesday 23rd of April 2008 08:18:03 PM
Old 04-23-2008
BASH -- sed -- variable

Hi, I'm new at bash scripting -- can anyone here help me about the sed command?

I need to be able to edit and or delete a text from an outside file ie file.txt -- I'm passing a variable and not a string

I was thinking of something like

echo -n "What do you want to edit?: "
read edit
sed -e '$edit' file.txt

??? thanks in advance!!! Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing variable from bash to perl from bash script

Hi All, I need to pass a variable to perl script from bash script, where in perl i am using if condition. Here is the cmd what i am using in perl FROM_DATE="06/05/2008" TO_DATE="07/05/2008" "perl -ne ' print if ( $_ >="$FROM_DATE" && $_ <= "$TO_DATE" ) ' filename" filename has... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: arsidh
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed variable substitution when variable constructed of a directory path

Hello, i have another sed question.. I'm trying to do variable substition with sed and i'm running into a problem. my var1 is a string constructed like this: filename1 filerev1 filepath1 my var2 is another string constructed like this: filename2 filerev2 filepath2 when i do... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alrinno
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash and ksh: variable lost in loop in bash?

Hi, I use AIX (ksh) and Linux (bash) servers. I'm trying to do scripts to will run in both ksh and bash, and most of the time it works. But this time I don't get it in bash (I'm more familar in ksh). The goal of my script if to read a "config file" (like "ini" file), and make various report.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: estienne
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting