Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Sending mail in the dead.letter file Post 302188215 by era on Wednesday 23rd of April 2008 02:30:55 AM
Old 04-23-2008
Yes, you can delete it if you don't want to keep it. It's basically just a mechanism for recovering lost messages in case there was a bug in the mail software or something. It will probably reappear if you use buggy mail software, but at least now you know what it's for.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dead.letter

HI, I am pretty new to Unix...but here is 1 serious problem...atleast for me..:-) now..the dead.letter file in /var/tmp has been growin continuously..n i dont know why..I ve even killed the sendmail process..but the dead.letter file keeps on increasin..Can anyone tell me where do I start... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: unisam
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to attach a txt file while sending mail

Hi, I need to attach a txt file while sending mail thru Unix. Please help me out in this.. -Charan. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: charan81
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

spooled file getting distorted when sending through unix mail

Hi Folks, I'm spooling a file through sqlplus and sending using mailx but the output got distorted in MS-outlook. Thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chgopi
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

what is dead.letter ??

Hi all can you please help me what is dead.letter file ? when it is created ? for the first time i have seen this file getting created in my current directory? I am using SunOs. Any IDEA ?? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jambesh
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Reading a file and sending mail based on content of the file