Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Reading a mailbox and sending new messages to a text file Post 302186507 by rsw626 on Thursday 17th of April 2008 11:40:40 AM
Old 04-17-2008
Reading a mailbox and sending new messages to a text file

I'm new to scripting and have been tasked with creating a script that will read a mailbox, such as /var/mail/user1, scan it for new messages, then send those new messages to another file.

It also has to be looped to run almost continuously.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading text from a file

Guys, I am trying to read text from a file, into arrays. The format of the file is: @DATABASE femotest @PACKAGE_SPECS /usr/home/oracle92/sosa/scripts/test.pks /usr/home/oracle92/sosa/scripts/rep.pks @PACKAGE_BODIES ... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: LiquidChild
12 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Attaching file and sending text in body using sendmail command!!

Hello, I need to send with text in the body and 2 files as attachments using sendmail command. i can send only one at a time either attachment or text in body of email. Can any one please help me how to get that? I will be great for any help. Thanks, Sparan (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sparan_peddu
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sorting files with find command before sending to text file

i need help with my script.... i am suppose to grab files within a certain date range now i have done that already using the touch and find command (found them in other threads) touch -d "$date_start" ./tmp1 touch -d "$date_end" ./tmp2 find "$data_location" -maxdepth 1 -newer ./tmp1 !... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: deking
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Reading a file and sending mail based on content of the file