Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Problem with my case statements Post 302186487 by Darklight on Thursday 17th of April 2008 10:45:35 AM
Old 04-17-2008
Thanks for that, it was the comments that were the problem.

Thanks also for the advice, im new to shell ill take all i can get.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

case statements

i need to use a case statement to do something when the user enters nothing at the prompt. i know about the if statement and that isnt' what i'm interested in using for this. i want to use case. heres the scenerio. a program asks a user for an input. i want to use a case statement to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Terrible
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to combine case statements

Hi, I need to change military time to regular time. I know to use case to indicate whether a.m. or p.m. as follows: case "$hour" in 0? | 1 ) echo a.m.;; 1 ) echo p.m.;; * ) echo p.m.;; esac My question is how do I add the hour and minute... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: karp3158
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Not able to exit from case statements

Hi all, I wrote the following simple shell script to perform addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. In the below program, i am not able to exit from the script Shell Script ----------- #!/bin/sh bgcal() { cal="" echo "Enter the Option Number: \c" read cal if then... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: uxpassion
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with CASE statement

Guys, Here is the script syntax which is not accepting the parameters & not performing the said activity. $ ./routing.sh xyz123-ra str enable ********************************************************************** Preparing to service the request for Device xyz123-ra in Question... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: raghunsi
9 Replies

5. Homework & Coursework Questions