Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Background Process Shell Scripting Post 302184708 by dhieraj on Saturday 12th of April 2008 02:16:49 PM
Old 04-12-2008
Thanks Jean. I think it will work for me Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to include RETURN KEY with Background process "&" in Shell Script

Hello All, I am a newbie in Shell script programming, and maybe you can help me with my query. I need to write a shell script (mntServer.ksh) that will start a background process and also to be able to run another script. The mntServer.ksh script contains: #!/bin/ksh... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: racbern
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

facing problem in starting a process in background using shell script.

hey all, i am working on sun solaris machine and i want to start a process in background using shell script (actually i wanna start tomcat server using shell script). please dont tell me that append a & at last because this is not working in the shell script. i have also used nohup and... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: dtomar
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Wait Process in Shell Scripting.

Hello, I have a script that needs to wait till the previous process is done within the same script.But my script doesnt wait till that it is done.Can anyone suggest how I can stop my process till the previous task is done. I tried 'wait' but I dont have a static process id so is there... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sud
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Scripting not showing in process when it goes to sleep

Hi All, Here is my script: sleep_time=`echo "9.6 * $num_servers"|bc| cut -d. -f1` if ; then sleep_time=3600;fi ### Allow the compare script to kick in after 1 hour at the least logger "Sleeping for $sleep_time seconds ...Will call compare.sh thereon" $act_log sleep $sleep_time #sleep... (3 Replies)