Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX UPS options other than Powertrust for D380 Post 302184377 by vbe on Friday 11th of April 2008 09:36:15 AM
Old 04-11-2008
In the mid 90s I had (and still have at home) a HP 715 workstation.
after a heavy corruption due to power shortage I had a backups PSU to connect to (just for the AC) but no one would pay for more...
So I tried to figure out a workaround, after working out I had 10 minutes to shutdown the station, I came up writing a script for the cron which pinged my pc every 4 minutes and in case of a failure would do a shutdown... Not as elegant as a real software and port connection, but better than nothing...

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Newbie UPS help

I am a newbie and I just got a Sun Ultra 5, and want an UPS. I have been looking at the different models, but I do not know which brand has software that is compatable with Solaris 2.8 for automatic shutdown. I have looked at the power setup options in Solaris, but there doesn't seem to be any... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jeremiebarber
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

UPS for HP-9000

Hello Everyone I run 4 HP 9000 servers with HP-UX 11.0 on all 4, with an Infomix Database. About 6 months ago one system starting acting real weird it will display the message that it lost power (which did not) and it would shutdown, Then roughly 30 seconds later it would then say power has... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: JackieRyan26
4 Replies

3. Solaris

Suns and UPS tripplite

I'm having some trouble getting my ups to work on my Sun ultra enterprise servers. I have it hooked to serial port b and i have the tripplite power alert software installed and running, but it doesn't see the connection, is there something else i'm supposed to do to make it realize it is hooked to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kymberm
2 Replies

4. Solaris

UPS Installation