Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting finding difference between 2 directory recursively Post 302183526 by yayati on Wednesday 9th of April 2008 08:44:08 AM
Old 04-09-2008
finding difference between 2 directory recursively

Hi,
i'm trying to compare two directories in Unix.
I need a recursive search ie my shell script should also compare common files in those two directory and so on...
any clues.. ??

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively copy only specific files from a directory tree

Hi I am a shell-script newbie and am looking to synchronize certain files in two directory structures. Both these directory-trees are in CVS and so I dont want the CVS directory to be copied over. I want only .sh and .pl files in each subdirectory under these directory trees to be... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sharpsharkrocks
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete files older than 5 minutes in directory (recursively)

sorry guys can some please give me a hint how to achieve this in a slick oneliner? delete files older than 5 minutes in specified directory (recursively) peace (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: scarfake
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete files recursively in the specified directory

I have to write a shell script which can delete all the files and directories recursively inside the specified directory but should not delete the specified directory. Please some body help me in writing the script. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deepthi.s
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

finding called functions recursively

I want to write a shell script which traverses a cpp file. Suppose there is function fncn_name6 .. which is called by fncn_name5 which in turn called by fncn_name4 and so on .. in a single cpp class. ie fncn_name1 { fncn_name2 { fncn_name3 } { fncn_name4 } } so fncn_name1 is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ultimatix