Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Ksh Checking if string has 2 characters and does not contain digits? Post 302183243 by developncode on Tuesday 8th of April 2008 03:07:05 PM
Old 04-08-2008
Question Ksh Checking if string has 2 characters and does not contain digits?

How could I check if a string variable contains at least (or only) 2 characters, and check and make sure that the string does not contain any numeric digits?...I need to know how to do this as simple as possible. and I am using the Ksh shell. Thanks.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

to check if a string has only digits

Hi guys, I am not very experienced in writing ksh scripts and I am trying to write a piece of code that indicates if a given string contains only digits and no alphabet (upper or lower case). If i write it my way it would turn out to have a lot of comparisons.. :eek: Thanks a lot in... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lakshmikanth
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract digits at end of string

I have a string like xxxxxx44. What's the best way to extract the digits (one or more) in a ksh script? Thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: offirc
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ksh Checking if variable has 5 digits

How could I check if a numeric variable has 5 digits in KSH...I have a zipcode variable that I know will always be 5 digits, and I want to print out an error if it is less or more than 5 digits the problem is that I have it as: if ] but this won't work because the statement doesn't see 0001 as... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: developncode
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

find the last digits of a string

print out 201 in following string, Please note the chars before 201 are random, no fixed format. ua07app201 (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: honglus
20 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting