Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX [Help] Give privilege to an ordinary user Post 302183237 by prichard on Tuesday 8th of April 2008 02:56:23 PM
Old 04-08-2008
Possibly sudo would work. If you don't have it installed you can get it from IBM AIX Toolbox Download Page - Alphabetical Listing

Then as root enter "visudo" and add a line that reads

username hostname=/usr/IBMIHS/bin/apachectl

Where username is the name of the user you want to run apachectl and hostname is the hostname of the AIX box you want this run on.

I think that will work. However, I don't have a good way to check your specific configuration.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Write privilege for user

Is it possible to grant write privileges to a user on a directory with out having to add the user to a group or make the user the owner of the directory? My background is in Windows and in Windows you can grant specific privileges to a user without having to put the user in a group or making the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: here2learn
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

switching user from root to ordinary user

Good day Guys!!! I am currently making a script in AIX, the script runs a SAS job, the owner of the script is the root, but the SAS jobs cannot be run by the root, as it should be run by a user 'sasia'. But inside the script, root creates a logfile, so what I need is just to su to sasia for the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sasia
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do i change to super user then revert back to ordinary user ,using shell script?

Hi all, I am trying to eject the cdrom from a livecd after certain stage... Now assuming that it is possible to eject,please consider my issue!!! The OS boots into a regular user by default...so i am unable to use the eject command to push out the drive... However if i try pfexec eject it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wrapster
3 Replies