Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl: Match a line with multiple search patterns Post 302183151 by danmero on Tuesday 8th of April 2008 12:13:58 PM
Old 04-08-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinADC
It is not clear if you need to check for all the patterns or any of the patterns:
Look like the OP ask for all patterns on the same line
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juha
....I want to find a line that has "abd", "123" and "QWERTY" and there can be any characters or numbers between the serach patterns...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl - How to search a text file with multiple patterns?

Good day, great gurus, I'm new to Perl, and programming in general. I'm trying to retrieve a column of data from my text file which spans a non-specific number of lines. So I did a regexp that will pick out the columns. However,my pattern would vary. I tried using a foreach loop unsuccessfully.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sp3ck
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

print lines which match multiple patterns

Hi, I have a text file as follows: 11:38:11.054 run1_rdseq avg_2-5 999988.0000 1024.0000 11:50:52.053 run3_rdrand 999988.0000 1135.0 128.0417 11:53:18.050 run4_wrrand avg_2-5 999988.0000 8180.5833 11:55:42.051 run4_wrrand avg_2-5 999988.0000 213.8333 11:55:06.053... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: annazpereira
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search multiple patterns in multiple files

Hi, I have to write one script that has to search a list of numbers in certain zipped files. For eg. one file file1.txt contains the numbers. File1.txt contains 5,00,000 numbers and I have to search each number in zipped files(The number of zipped files are around 1000 each file is 5 MB) I have... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: vsachan
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Match multiple patterns in a file and then print their respective next line