Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting shell scripts to grep dn in ldif file Post 302182622 by bulkbiz on Monday 7th of April 2008 06:04:35 AM
Old 04-07-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by summer_cherry
Code:
nawk 'BEGIN{FS="\n";RS=""}
{
if(index($3,"Regards")!=0)
print $0
}' filename

Thank you very much, may I know what is FS and RS? Sorry I am really a newbie.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting Text File into XML using Unix Shell Scripts

Hi everyone, If someone out there could help me out with this problem. I would really appreciate it. I am trying to convert a file into xml format using Unix shell scripts. The file has fields with each field having a certain number of bytes, but the fields are not delimited by anything... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Laud12345
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Plz Help To convert xml file to text file using bourn shell scripts

If someone out there could help me out with this problem. I would really appreciate it. I am trying to convert xml into text file(fixed length) using Unix Borne shell scripts. My xml file: <root> <header_rec recordtype="00"> <record_id>00</record_id> <country_code>AK></country_code>... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ram2s2001
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need a simple file based utilty for shell scripts

Hello, I'm wondering if you may know of a simple file based UNIX utility that can be used to store and retrieve values on a flat file, let's say i have a file called "kru", i'd like to be able to specify a request like: while(....) if ; then kru.fld2 = $rec_cnt kru.fld3 =... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobk544
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

FTP is using shell scripts create ? for file