Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting find command in while loop - how to get control when no files found? Post 302181532 by drl on Thursday 3rd of April 2008 08:52:10 AM
Old 04-03-2008
Hi.

One could also break the pipeline into pieces, using scratch files to communicate, so that one could test the exit status of each part.

A more complex solution involves using another process for each piece, as explained in ``Answers to Unix'' Column: No. 003 -- quite inventive I think.

Some shells may offer pipefail -- bash and ksh, for example:
Quote:
If pipefail is enabled, the
pipeline's return status is the value of the last (rightmost) command
to exit with a non-zero status, or zero if all commands exit success-
fully.
-- excerpt from man bash
... cheers, drl

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Monitoring a directory for new files with .xx and executing command if found

Hi Guys. I am a complete shell scripting newbie with some syntax and commands understanding. I'm more of a win admin. With that said: I need to write a shell script to monitor a directory '/Mon_Dir' for new occurrences of files with .xx extension. Once a new file is detected in the directory, a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: krkan
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with find command and list in a long format each found file

The purpose of those comands are to find the newest file in a directory acvrdind to system date, and it has to be recursively found in each directory. The problem is that i want to list in a long format every found file, but the commands i use produce unexpected results ,so the output lists in a... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: alexcol
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

print as well as count the files found by find command