Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Inserting variables from 2 files to create 1 file Post 302176095 by Tytalus on Monday 17th of March 2008 10:33:59 AM
Old 03-17-2008
Code:
paste Num Grp | awk '{print "</start>\n<num>"$1"</num>\n<field></field>\n<grp>"$2"</grp>\n<Node>DKL</Node>\n</start>\n\n"}'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Trying to create files from a file

Hello to everyone, I am new to UNIX and I am having a problem. I have a file full of information, and need to create diferent files. I have to split the file whenever I find a sentence in the original one. This sentence is always the same (JOB ^....). As you can see I need to read a file, and... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jordimirobruix
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging files to create CSV file

Hi, I have different files of the same type, as: Time: 100 snr: 88 perf: 10 other: 222 Each of these files are created periodically. What I need to do is to merge all of them into one but having the following form: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ravendark
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Create different files from input file.

I have file A.txt File A 1,Hi,234 2,Hello,345 1,Kal,980, 9,KJ,098 2,de,098 .. ... I have more then 600 lines... I want separate the files as per 150 line. First 150 lines ----File A1.xtx Second 150 lines ---File A2.txt Third 150 lines----File A3.txt. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: asavaliya
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to create multiple files from one file?

Hi everyone! I usually get large files with different groups of entries; for example, each line starts with A, B, C, D, or E. Is there a way to separate all these entries and then write them in 5 different files with one awk program? Thank you! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Avro1986
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting