Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Srry Im a bit new round here..... Post 302175892 by BigDaddyDirt on Sunday 16th of March 2008 07:07:28 PM
Old 03-16-2008
Srry Im a bit new round here.....

Well to start off, let me say hello to every one! Im a bit new on the forum, I just signed up, but Ive been working with Unix like systems for a few years now. I have this old i486 sx that I found in my closet and I want to load a Unix onto it although Im not too sure what it might handle. I believe it has like 16mb RAM, and the processor is the 25mhz I want to say. I mean its really old and Im surprised it still runs! I would appreciate if anybody has any ideas on what i could run on it, I mean its just a little project until I purchase another computer.SmilieSmilie

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

copying or concatinating string from 1st bit, leaving 0th bit

Hello, If i have 2 strings str1 and str2, i would like to copy/concatenate str2 to str1, from 1st bit leaving the 0th bit. How do i do it? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jazz
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

migrating unix mp-ras 32 bit to linux suse 64 bit

Hi. I need to migrate the whole unix environment from a Unix mp-ras 32 bit to a Linux Suse 64 bit. 1) can i use cpio to copy the data? 2) can i just copy the users from unix to linux or do i have to create them by hand 3) are there any other concerns i should worry about? thanx (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mrodrig
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to handle 64 bit arithmetic operation at 32 bit compiled perl interpreter?H

Hi, Here is the issue. From the program snippet I have Base: 0x1800000000, Size: 0x3FFE7FFFFFFFF which are of 40 and 56 bits. SO I used use bignum to do the math but summing them up I always failed having correct result. perl interpreter info, perl, v5.8.8 built for... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: rrd1986
0 Replies