Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris How to start/stop cron jobs on live server Post 302175063 by santosh.mane on Thursday 13th of March 2008 01:09:23 AM
Old 03-13-2008
Restart cron.

Instead of killing the daemon and starting it. Use /etc/init.d/cron stop and /etc/init.d/cron start.

OR

if you just wish to refresh the cron daemon to reread the entries give HUP signal to cron daemon.

#kill -HUP PID #### (PID is for cron daemon)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Start/Stop Script

I'm a newbie to the Unix world Help! I have to maintain a host of Sybase database servers sitting on Unix Sun Solaris 8...I've been tasked with finding/creating a way to auto start/stop Unix via unix commands, specifically when the Unix servers need to be restarted we want Sybase to start... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjv1
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Help: how to start/stop FTP server in solaris?

As the title. Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: eddsos
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find the jobs running in background and stop

Hi All, I have requirement. I am running a job every 30mins. before starting the process, i need to check the process, if the process is still running then i need not trigger the process again, if it is not running then trigger the process again. I am using cron to trigger the shell script. Can... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: srinivas_paluku
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Cron jobs in a unix server

Dear all, Is it possible to view all the cronjobs set under all the userids in a server. Or view all the cronjobs in the server? Thanks in anticipation, Sree. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sreejith_VK
2 Replies

5. Linux

Why service (start|stop) can not be called from cron?