Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Getting the path from a variable Post 302172541 by vanathi on Tuesday 4th of March 2008 04:06:55 AM
Old 03-04-2008
thank you

thank you danmero. it is working.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Path Environment Variable

Hi..... I'm kind of new to c programming in Unix...need help here. Supposed to write a source code to support Path environment variable for my programming assignment for Spring semester. but i'm kind of stuck. Could anyone out there assist me? prompt> /bin/ls My program could output... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tancy
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

:: in PATH environment variable

whats the meaning of :: colon in PATH environment? /usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/gnu/bin::.:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/gnu/bin:/usr/local/bin and whats the meaning of // in PATH ? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gfhgfnhhn
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

set variable PATH

Hi, i know that this topic discussed for many times but although i had researched them i couldnt succeed in my problem. i am following a step-by-step instruction guide and must do the following: ------------- To ensure access, set the path PATH $ORACLE_HOME/perl/bin:$PATH and set the Perl... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: merope
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using a variable in File Path

How can i add a varying filename at the end of a constant file path? Eg: Variable containing file name is varfile (say varfile=newfile) File path is C:\Test\ I want to access newfile which can be done as C:/\Test/\newfile But instead of directly accesing the newfile i want to access it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandeep_hi
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed variable substitution when variable constructed of a directory path