Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: help.. Problems in using awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help.. Problems in using awk Post 302172463 by Perderabo on Monday 3rd of March 2008 09:44:52 PM
Old 03-03-2008
Code:
$ echo 00450000.000000 00402300.000000 00040000.000000 00020000.000000 00020000.000000 00020000.000000 00020000.000000 \
| awk -v RS=" " '{sum=sum+$1;printf("sum: %.0f\n",sum)}'
sum: 450000
sum: 852300
sum: 892300
sum: 912300
sum: 932300
sum: 952300
sum: 972300

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problems with AWK

Hi I'm a newbie to Unix scripting and was having some problems with AWK. I have written this little script that should read a process list and then print out the PID's of the offending processes. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to work! The script is as follows: ps -ef | awk '{if... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: trainee
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk problems

If i try the -f option for awk, i get the "awk: can't open " error message The following awk statement works fine without the -f option `awk <$RULES '/^IGNORE_POLICY / { print $2 }'` Below how i turned on debugging to show what is happening, can someone provide me with some advice!!!! ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Junes
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

awk problems

awk ' FILENAME=="First"{ arr = 1; x=sub ; } FILENAME=="Second"{ if (/^10/ &&... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ehab
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

problems with awk

Using Linux, I am trying to create a list of all the lines that have "Non-white" or "No" in column 3 of a file: ethnicity.txt. I have used the following command : awk '$3 == "No" || $3 == "Non-white" {print $1, $2, $3}' ethnicity.txt This only returns the lines with "No" and none of... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: polly_falconer
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Execution problems using awk command.