Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers I can't divide properly in shell Post 302170778 by mikez104 on Tuesday 26th of February 2008 03:45:41 PM
Old 02-26-2008
I can't divide properly in shell

I'm new at this and frustratd because I know this must be simple but here goes. I'm trying to write a script that will give me the percentage of a particular field over multiple text files.

Each day I have around 1500 files that are generated. Each file has around 100 lines in it. The lines that I want have LOI in the first field. Each line has 13 fields. The last field either has 0001 (good) or 0002 (bad). I need to find the total lines with LOI and figure the percentage of 0002 of the total.

Getting the total is easy.

total=`grep LOI date* | cut -d" " -f 13 | wc -l`

and getting the bad...

bad=`grep LOI date* | cut -d" " -f 13 |grep 0002| wc -l`

date* gives me all the files for the day in question. So that counts all the records and gets them into a variables. Then I tried

expr $failed / $played

and it just gives me 0.

I then tried this in AWK. I can do this

gawk '/LOI/ {print $13 }' date* | wc -l | gawk '{print "total " $0}'

but can't figure out how to get both values into awk and manipulate them.
please help...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script needs to divide by 2

i need to divide this count by 2, what variable can i use in my script? 26 hcscprod_cpus_totals /2 = 13 13 hcncprod_cpus_totals /2= 6.5 541 ktazp_cpus_totals /2= 270.5 346 ktazd_cpus_totals /2=173 110 ktazi_cpus_totals /2=55 10 ktazq_cpus_totals /2=5 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: wereyou
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script not processing if statement properly