Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Automatically mounting a filesystem after a reboot Post 302170679 by austin4397 on Tuesday 26th of February 2008 10:40:26 AM
Old 02-26-2008
Question Automatically mounting a filesystem after a reboot

Hi All,

I am new to AIX. I am having problems mounting a filesystem after a system reboot.

Steps:

1. Create and Map LUN to host

2. On the host, to detect/configure the LUN: /usr/sbin/cfgmgr

3. Create a filesystem: mkfs -V vxfs /dev/hdisk757

4. Create a mountpoint: mkdir -p /mnt/testlun; chmod 777 /mnt/testlun

5. Mount the filesystem: mount -V vxfs -o log=INLINE /dev/hdisk757 /mnt/testlun

6. Populate the /etc/filesystems:
echo '
/mnt/testlun:
dev = /dev/hdisk757
vfs = vxfs
log = INLINE
mount = automatic <--- Tried using "true"
check = false' >> /etc/filesystems

7. touch a file

8. ls /mnt/testlun
testfile1

9. reboot

After the system reboots, I don't see the filesystem in the df output.

Are the above steps correct?. Do I need to use some kind of container like volume group or diskgroup for veritas, before I can create a filesystem on it.?. Smilie

Thanks...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Red Hat

Mounting NTFS filesystem

I'm currently running dual boot Linux & Windows. Linux is Fedora core 3. I've downloaded and installed the rmp that was needed so that I could mount a NTFS filesystem. But when I go to mount the filesystem I'm still getting error's stating it does not support the NTFS filesystem. Also the... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: woofie
9 Replies

2. Solaris

filesystem mounting

Hi all, I have a question regarding filesystem mounting. I have one Sun box(V240) and a NAS on a network. Sun machine shows the following output of df -k command. # df -k Filesystem kbytes used avail capacity Mounted on /dev/md/dsk/d0 11094316 8509226 2474147 78% ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: prashantchavan
2 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

mounting filesystem twice on Solaris