Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Writing to a File using pl/sql Post 302169569 by stky13 on Thursday 21st of February 2008 02:55:52 PM
Old 02-21-2008
Writing to a File using pl/sql

Hi I am new to using pl/sql on a unix platform and am having trouble writing to a file from within a block. Below is an example of the code that I have. I know that I need to use UTL_FILE to accomplish this; however, I keep getting errors. Can someone please help me?

I am trying to create a csv file of tables name from a schema. However, I cannot figure out how to write the table names into a csv file after getting the user input.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

prompt Enter Table owner;
accept user_schema char prompt 's (SYSTEM), m (WMSYS), b (Both): ';

declare

user_input varchar2 (40) := '&user_schema';

type t_names is table of all_tables.TABLE_NAME%type;
all_table_names t_names;

begin

if user_input = 'w' then

user_input := '''WMSYS''';
select table_name bulk collect into all_table_names from all_tables where owner = user_input;

else
user_input := '''SYSTEM''';
select table_name bulk collect into all_table_names from all_tables where owner = user_input;

end if;

end;
/

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

conditional writing of sql code

Hello again... I have a request from another department to list for them all the columns and tables we use in this certain database. I have spooled the oracle stored procedured into 1 file. I need a way to write out parts of that file. The criteria is to to start the block to be written when... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kburrows
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Execute PL/SQL function from Unix script (.sql file)