Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Shell Command for Symbolic Link Targets Post 302169501 by bdizenhouse on Thursday 21st of February 2008 12:57:09 PM
Old 02-21-2008
Shell Commands for Symbolic Links

Thank you very much for the indepth solution.

I'm still very new to the Unix world, and where I am, we mainly deal with AIX, so I will definately check out the forums here.

So I've come to the conclusion to use the following 2 commands:

(find all non-absolute symbolic links)
find / -type l ! -fstype nfs 2> /dev/null | (while read FN ; do test -e "$FN" | file -h "$FN" | grep 'symbolic link to [^/]' ; done) | wc -l

(final all broken symbolic links)
find / -type l ! -fstype nfs 2> /dev/null | (while read FN ; do test -e "$FN" || ls -l "$FN" 2> /dev/null; done) | wc -l

Thanks very much for the help!
ben

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

symbolic Link

question abt symbolic link ... i'm doing the following ... ln -s x.sh ./scripts/y.sh and cat ./scripts/y.sh it is giving following error cat: cannot open y.sh Any reason u an think of ? But it is working fine when i goto scripts directory and cretae the symbolic link. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bhargav
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

need some info about symbolic link and hard link

hello folks how y'all doin well i have some questions about symbolic link and hard link hope some one answer me i open terminal and join as root and i wrote ln -s blah blah then i wrote ls i see red file called blah blah but didn't understand what is this can some one explain and... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: detective linux
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script -- symbolic link