Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: script to export variables
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting script to export variables Post 302169054 by aboxilica on Wednesday 20th of February 2008 05:33:31 AM
Old 02-20-2008
script to export variables

Hi,

I am a newbie to unix as well as scripting. I need to write a script, which on execution sets the necessay oracle variables.

Can someone help me out as to how to proceed? also can u suggest good tutorial for bash/shell scripting?

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

export variables

I have a master shell, which calls another shell to export some env variables. But when I just run the child shell from the command line, and see if the variables are exported by doing, echo $EXPORTED_VAR1 I am not seeing the value. But I am sure, I am using the child shell from a master... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: srishan
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

export env variables

hi i want to write a shell script to set environment variables . But i am not been able to set that for the current shell instead i have to spawn a new shell. Is there a way to set the env variable for the current shell using shell script in bash shell ? Thnx (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: varun.81
2 Replies

3. Solaris

not able to export the Variables

I am working with Sun Solaris 9 and I want to export the environment variable from my application(xxxx.ksh) but I am not able to see it when I am using SET command I am writing some variables which I have to set COMMON_USER_HOME=${HOME} export COMMON_USER_HOME echo... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: smartgupta
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to export ENV variables, which remains set for all the shell