Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find information from complicated strings Post 302166607 by Tytalus on Tuesday 12th of February 2008 09:49:28 AM
Old 02-12-2008
assuming your naming convention is var1,var2..var9 then:

Code:
 sed 's/var.=//g' infile

should be sufficient if i've read your question correctly

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Please help me find out system information

I'm just getting started with unix and would like to know 1) how to tell how big the harddrive is 2) how to tell if there are multiple harddrive installed on the machine 3) a relitavely easy way to tell what programs are installed on the machine. I'm using Sun OS 5.6 Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ViperD
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I find information about the hardware?

Hello I used to Red Hat and the common Linux commands, but now I have to deal with a SCO-Unix (Unix Ware 7). I have to find information about the hardware. What networkcard is installed? What graphiccard is installed? Which SCSI-Adapter and what kind of harddisks? What software is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Fwurm
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Take a folder name and find it in another folder (Complicated)

Hi Script Experts, Here is my scenario: 1. /var/mqm/qmgrs folder will contain 11 folders as follows: 1. /var/mqm/qmgrs/Folder_Name1 ....................../Folder_Name2 ....................../Folder_Name3 ....... ...................../Folder_Name11 2. if Folder_Name1 exists... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hkhan12
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

find information about logins