Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: mounting problem
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers mounting problem Post 302166143 by bakunin on Monday 11th of February 2008 05:31:50 AM
Old 02-11-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi raj kumar
But when i am trying to mount cdrom with the command "mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/cdrom" I am getting the following error
"Unknown device /dev/sda1".
I'm by no means an expert in Red Hat, but to mee the "/dev/sda1" looks suspicious. "/dev/sda1" should designate the first partition on the first ID harddisk, the CD-ROM should be /dev/cd0 or /dev/cdrom AFAIK. Hence the following command should work:

mount /dev/cd0 /mount/cdrom

I hope this helps.

bakunin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

mounting disk problem

i am using Interactive Unix 4.1.1 and i have a disk from a another unix machine which is Unix Slackware 2.1 i'm having problem mounting the disk. it gives me an error message, ??? is there any solution to this ??? it say the disk has invalid file system (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mharck29
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problem with mounting

Hi people, I've made some search about it but i didn't find anything. I tried to mount my floppy, mount -t /dev/fd0 /mnt but it didn't work... it says : "Device not configured". Can you help me please??? And mounting my dos partiton... mount -t vfat /dev/hdc1... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Erythro73
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problem mounting different named drive

Hi all, I've got a system here in which I have put a hard drive that was previously mirrored in a supposedly identical system. I am now attempting to boot from this drive alone but get these messages: --- ad4: 58644MB <Maxtor 6Y060L0> at ata2-master UDMA100 Mounting root from ufs:/dev/ar0a... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimbostyx
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Mounting problem.