Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: changing format
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting changing format Post 302163053 by KevinADC on Thursday 31st of January 2008 12:51:06 AM
Old 01-31-2008
did you want to modify your current script to produce the desired output or write a new script to modify the output? Here is a perl solution until you clarify your requirements:

Code:
perl -pe 'BEGIN {$i = 0;} print $i++, " ", s/,/ /g;' inputfile > outputfile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing the date format

Hi, I know there is a Q/A section and lots of posts regarding date command here. I am sorry to start a new thread. I am very new to shell scripting (actually i am working on my first program), so please forgive my ignorance. I could not find an answer to my problem else where so i posted it... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dream86
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Getting month and changing format

Hello, I would like to get todays moth and write it in this format: _06_ Any ideas? (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: marringi
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

changing month in Mmm format to mm FORMAT

i have an variable mydate=2008Nov07 i want o/p as in variable mymonth=11 (i.e nov comes on 11 number month) i want some command to do this for any month without using any loop. plz help me (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: RahulJoshi
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Changing Date format

How to change a date stored in a variable to YYYYMMDD. Variable output is in DD-MON-YY,required format is 'YYYYMMDD' Thanks, Sud (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sud
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Changing from Excel date format to MySQL date format