Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting gcd.sh script doesn't work... Post 302159418 by kantze on Thursday 17th of January 2008 06:55:18 PM
Old 01-17-2008
gcd.sh script doesn't work...

Hi there. I'm new to scripting in bash shell and I have this problem.
I'm trying to make a script that returns the greatest common divisor of two integer numbers according to Euclid's algorithm...

Here is, what I've done:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

m=$1
n=$2

while [ "$n" != 0 ]
do
if [ "$m" -gt "$n" ]; #line 8
then m=$m-$n
else n=$n-$m
fi
done
echo $n

and I get an error message: line 8:integer exrpession expected
I run the gcd.sh writing in the terminal
Code:
./gcd.sh 14 28

where 14 and 28 are integers, right?
So, what's the problem? Could you please tell me what should I write?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shel Script doesn't work from Exceed

Hi, I am using this script to load up my Oracle Databases, but when I log in through Exceed, it hangs. Can anyone tell me what else I need to add to make this work?? Details ****************************************************************************************************... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: dnkansah
11 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script doesn't work, but commands inside work

Howdie everyone... I have a shell script RemoveFiles.sh Inside this file, it only has two commands as below: rm -f ../../reportToday/temp/* rm -f ../../report/* My problem is that when i execute this script, nothing happened. Files remained unremoved. I don't see any error message as it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cheongww
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

script doesn't work in another distribution