Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Urgent:Comparing two Strings using If Loop Post 302156753 by Anji on Wednesday 9th of January 2008 01:44:23 AM
Old 01-09-2008
Urgent:Comparing two Strings using If Loop

Hi All,

Please help me out in this... I am new to scripting

How to compare two strings by using the same string in single loop,
I am using ksh

for ex:see the code snippet below
I am writing in java,
Can u guys tell me that in scripting

if ("string1"=="string2" || "string1"=="string3")
{
//statements----
}
else
if("string2"="string3")
{
//statements
}

Thanks in advance.
Anji

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing two strings

Hi How do i compare two strings in shell script. Below is an example but I am not getting the desired output, plz help if then echo success fi I am not getting the desired output if I do this. plz help (24 Replies)
Discussion started by: ragha81
24 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Comparing strings

I have two strings a=Mar22 b=may21 how can I compare them Is this fine if then; . ... else .... fi or if then (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: yakyaj
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparing Two Strings

Hi All, While I am trying to run below code I Am getting the exception like ./abs.sh: line 102: syntax error near unexpected token `then' ./abs.sh: line 102: ` then' The Code Snippet is: if then cat $file1 | sed -e... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing strings

i have a string in a file which gets repeated number of times like below: rpttxt("abc") . . rpttxt("REP_TITLE") rpttxt("BOS_TITLE") . . . . and so on using awk or grep how can i comapre the string( as the second half keeps varying) and store it in a temporary variable? I am using the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: agarwal
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing 2 strings