Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash/AWK Newbie taking on more than he can chew. Post 302152283 by mph999 on Wednesday 19th of December 2007 10:59:24 AM
Old 12-19-2007
For part 1 ...

TESTVAR=$(find . -name log_20070911* |wc -l)
echo $TESTVAR

If you enclose a command in $( ) then the output of that command is used, in this case, assigned to the variable TESTVAR.

You could use ` ` also.

Martin

(Parts 2/3 I need to think about)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie - Need help in bash scripting

Hi there, I am a student and currently working on a project. I have a file that contains about 50 filenames. (1.txt, 2.txt, 3.txt ...). I would like to know how can I store these filenames into a variable using a loop? I would appreciate if anyone can help me. Thank You. Regards, Bib (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: coolbib
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

quick newbie bash question

I'm in .profile. I want to export a directory ( export MY_TOOL_HOME=/tools/my tool". Unfortunately for me, the directory I want to export to has a space in its name. So when I try to cd $MY_TOOL_HOME, i get a No such file or directory at the command line... thanks for the help (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: redsand9009
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie bash scripting help requested

Hi, I'm very new to bash scripting and Linux in general. I'm running Ubuntu Server 10.04 and trying to write a bash script to launch a program. In doing so, I've come across a couple of things that I obviously don't understand. Here is a short script that exemplifies those things: ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Carson Dyle
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looking for help with parsing file contents in bash [newbie]