Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Stopping A process
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Stopping A process Post 302149176 by ejdv on Wednesday 5th of December 2007 06:59:32 AM
Old 12-05-2007
Killing a process based on the process name can be tricky.
The process name might be a substring of another process.
And it could exist more than once.

This should work:

PID=`ps -ef | grep -w ${PROCNAME} | awk '{print $2}'`
kill -9 $PID

This will kill all occurences of the PROCNAME.

I have come across the fact that the process name you want to kill is actually a process with some arguments, like "httpd -f".
In this case it can't hurt to use quotes:

PID=`ps -ef | grep -w "${PROCNAME}" | awk '{print $2}'`
kill -9 $PID

Would you like to only kill the last occurence of the PROCNAME you may use:

PID=`ps -ef | grep -w "${PROCNAME}" | awk 'END {print $2}'`
kill -9 $PID

Perhaps others have better suggestions as I am still learning too :-)

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Stopping a print request

Im running a solaris 9 system and keep getting this message: Request to LXKF894CB (unknown printer) from zion. This happen because there was a mis configured printer and a job was submitted to it. I fix the printer issue but this message keeps repeating and the PID keeps going up. How can i... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: meyersp
5 Replies

2. AIX

Stopping multiple process on AIX

I'm trying to update a shared library (*.so) in our AIX machine. However, when I tried to delete the old *.so file, I get this error -> Cannot open or remove a file containing a running program. Based on the information I gather from the net, shared libraries are not unloaded (the file remains... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: soulfactory2002
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

stopping a script