Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Looking to install Unix on my Mac Post 302148730 by dnbphysicist on Monday 3rd of December 2007 12:09:05 PM
Old 12-03-2007
I am just curious, do you know that the Mac Operating System's kernel is based on Unix? It is Free BSD, and you can use almost all the same commands you would on a normal *nix box. All you have to do is open the Terminal (just like you would on a *nix box) and you can browse the file system, perform root user tasks and even program in the shells. Granted the GUI is different, but it would be a great way to get started.

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

The what and how to install UNIX on a new mac

Firstly, Happy New Year to all. Secondly, my earnest request... I am an absolute novice in UNIX. Have work around alittle with the mac os Terminal which encourage me to get myself a used G3 powerbook. I would like to work full fledge installing a unix shell onto it (without GUI). Could... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pharme
4 Replies

2. OS X (Apple)

install windows on mac

Hello all, i want to install windows on mac and when i search i found that there is a program called Parallels Desktop to install windows on mac but i want it on the laptop not on the program does it work? or there is another anyway to install it on mac..?? Thanks in advanced (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Reham$
8 Replies

3. OS X (Apple)

You cannot install Mac OS X on this volume.

I lost the firmware password for my MacBook Pro 13" I pulled one of the two DIMMs and did a PRAM reset but the password is intact. How do I reset the password. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: JustOne
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

paritioning mac harddrive during arch install