Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming How to watch for file creation/deletion? Post 302145129 by porter on Tuesday 13th of November 2007 12:48:22 AM
Old 11-13-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blowtorch
@Porter,
Won't the directory modification time change when a file is deleted as well?
Yes so cheapest thing to do is monitor that single date, then if that changes delve deeper to find what actually changed.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Deletion of File in Unix

Hi there guys. I'm quite new in using unix and just recently experienced missing file problem. Someone accidentally or likely intentionally deleted one specific folders that contains important file. Now my question is, can any other user aside from root can do such action? Please help. ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rhomel101
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

large file deletion

OS: Solaris 8 I deleted a large file (around 13 Gigs) from my system. But the output of df -k remains the same. The capacity % is constant. However one strange thing is happening- My available space is decreasing, my used space in increasing (The opposite should happen). This is happening... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: run_time_error
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file deletion problem

I am using unix via telnet ssh and i have a problem I was testing the server. I made a directory. Transfered a file from an ftp to it. Opened the file with the vi text editor --This where my problem came..... I tried deleting the file using rm somefile.htm when is typed ls i noticed that... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shdwsclan
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Prompting for file deletion?