Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Getting Solaris machine into Network Post 302143528 by panchpan on Thursday 1st of November 2007 11:30:41 PM
Old 11-02-2007
Hi Porter

What is your network configuration? --> DHCP

What network will your machine plug into? --> LAN/Internet

Is there a DHCP server which dynamically allocates IP addresses? --> YES

Have you been told on an IP address you must use? --> NO

Are you on a network that is going through a NAT router? -->YES

How are names going to be resolved? --> DNS

Which name server are you going to use? --> 10.68.XXX.XXX

Please advice.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Machine names changing on network

Hello, this is my first post, and yeah, I'm quite new to UNIX, so please bare with me... My question has to do with a few Macs on a Windows network, but since the question is not OS X specific (I think) or Windows specific (I think), but rather UNIXish (I think) I chose to post here rather than... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: fxj
3 Replies

2. Solaris

Best possible communication mechanism between a Solaris machine and a windows machine

hi, I have some windows client machines which require a signal to be sent by a Solaris machine( SunOS 5.6) when ever a particular event occurs on that Solaris machine. What are possible communication mechanisms by which i can do this. the constraints are > the windows machines have to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Krsh
7 Replies

3. IP Networking

RSH to Ubuntu machine from Solaris machine?

This is probably really basic compared to what you guys are usually talking about here, but I have a problem and I have no idea what to do about it. I try to RSH to my Ubuntu computer from my Solaris one and run into a dead end: >> rsh 192.168.1.103 ::ffff:192.168.1.103: Connection timed out... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bradj47
4 Replies

4. Solaris