Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Appending text to a number of similar filenames Post 302139889 by Djaunl on Tuesday 9th of October 2007 07:10:14 PM
Old 10-09-2007
Appending text to a number of similar filenames

Hi,

I was wondering if there was a way to append something to filenames based on a wildcard. For example, if I have the following files in a directory:

blah1
blah2
blah3
blah4
blah5

I want to rename these all to:

blah1.txt
blah2.txt
blah3.txt
blah4.txt
blah5.txt

Is there a way to select all the blah files (using say, 'blah*'?) and then appending the same text to the end of them? I was looking at the mv command, but I was unsure of how to take all the filenames after saying 'mv blah*' and append text to them.

Thanks,
Dan

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

changing filenames in a directory to a number within a loop

hey guys. i'm new to shell scripting but not new to programming. i want to write a script that will take all the files in the current directory that end with a particular filetype and change all their names to a number in order. so, it would take all the jpg files and sort them in alphabetical... (30 Replies)
Discussion started by: visitorQ
30 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Appending line number to each line and getting total number of lines

Hello, I need help in appending the line number of each line to the file and also to get the total number of lines. Can somebody please help me. I have a file say: abc def ccc ddd ffff The output should be: Instance1=abc Instance2=def Instance3=ccc Instance4=ddd Instance5=ffff ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: chiru_h
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

appending variable number of files