Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: struggling within awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting struggling within awk Post 302139522 by geeko on Monday 8th of October 2007 12:04:31 AM
Old 10-08-2007
struggling within awk

!#/bin/bash

cat input.sh | awk '
{
cur1=tolower($1)

cur2=tolower($2)

rsh $cur1 report | grep $cur2

# i just want to make the code line to work
} '

the error which i get is ....

./madh1.sh: line 1: !#/bin/bash: No such file or directory
awk: cmd. line:13: rsh $cur1 report | grep tree | grep $cur2
awk: cmd. line:13: ^ syntax error
awk: cmd. line:13: rsh $cur1 report | grep tree | grep $cur2
awk: cmd. line:13: ^ syntax error

i'm new to shell scripting & not comfortable with the awk..can you please help me..

thanks in advance,

regards,
geeko.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

struggling with addusr ...

I'm completely new to UNIX, and having got the hang of directory navigation / creation (Just about), I think it is time to create an FTP account, so that I can upload a web site remotely. Herein lies the problem... 1: I cannot find a breakdown of addusr commands, so I cannot create a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dufty
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Struggling with mkfifo

Gurus, I did my research (on google, this site and my local library) but I am *still* lost. I am trying to teach myself about `named pipes` playing around with MKFIFO (Why not?). (1) It seems MKNOD is reserved to ROOT whereas MKFIFO is accessible to all users. Am I correct? If the answer is... (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: alan
20 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Struggling with a text file