Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Trying to compare lines in 2 files Post 302136782 by brdholman on Wednesday 19th of September 2007 05:12:13 PM
Old 09-19-2007
Trying to compare lines in 2 files

Hello, I am new to scripting and need some help. In looking at other posts on this forum, I came up with the following logic. I cannot figure out why I am getting names of files of the current directory in my echo output.

Scenario: message file has a line containing the version. Version.txt contains the correct version. I have to see if the message file's version matches the correct version.

Can you tell me what I am doing wrong??

cat /home/brdholman/testing/Tar/Message.dat | while read LINE
do
#if [[ "$LINE" = "$Version.txt" ]]
VERSION="$LINE"
cat Version.txt | while read LINE2
do
if [[ "$LINE2" = "$VERSION" ]]
then
echo $VERSION
else
continue
#echo not equal
fi
done
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare files by lines and columns

Dear All, Is it possible to compare 2 files line to line using column values? for example I have file1: 1;givi;01012000;wer 2;sss;02012000;rrr 3;ccc;03012000;ttt file 2: 0;uuu;01012000;lll 1;givi;01012000;wer 2;sss;02012000;rrr 3;ccc;03012000;ttt 5;givi;01012000;hhh I want... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: giviut
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare two files and to remove the matching lines on both the files

I have two files and need to compare the two files and to remove the matching lines from both the files (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shellscripter
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare lines in two files (Memory getting exhausted)

Hi, Could someone please help me with the best approach to compare lines from one file to another? Here is how I have entries - File 1 a1 a2 a3 a4 a9 a10 a15 File2 a5 a6 a15 (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sncoupons
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting