Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: man aliases
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers man aliases Post 302136107 by Pipa on Saturday 15th of September 2007 01:44:09 AM
Old 09-15-2007
Question man aliases

Can any one show me how to create an alias account that silently copies local emails to the administrator (root) using a linux cmd line or GUI?

The answer needs to be very simplly explained at this stage, as I am new to the command prompt...expecialy in linux.
thanks heaps guys

PipaSmilie

I have tried to delete this message as I am still researching this...
anyway any help will be appreciated
I tend to get tied in nots as I am more used to the DOS command prompt.

Last edited by Pipa; 09-15-2007 at 03:15 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sendmail / Aliases

I'm trying to make a script that will automatically read incoming mail, parse the recipient, then send a file off to the recipient. (Name of file = mail.pl) #!/usr/bin/perl $mailDir = "/var/spool/mail/" $user = print `cat <STDIN> | grep To: | cut -b5-`; print `elm -s Awaiting Mail $user <... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ComTec
1 Replies

2. Programming

aliases

Hi. I have a C program that is using the **environ pointer and I am trying to set up aliases for a system("/bin/ksh") call. This works for other environment variables but not for the aliases. Does anyone know if this can be done? Thanks ahead of time. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mluey61
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

aliases

Is there a way to view what aliases are running on a given session? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

/etc/mail/aliases