Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Use awk to log transform
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Use awk to log transform Post 302135951 by jmzcal on Thursday 13th of September 2007 07:04:54 PM
Old 09-13-2007
Use awk to log transform

Hello. I'm trying to use the awk command to convert certains fields to lgo base 2, not base 10.

I'm trying command lines like:

awk '$2 $5 $7 {print log(2)($2), log(2)($5), $7) filein.txt > fileout.txt

I'm trying to make a deadline.

Thanks for helping a newbie. Here's some fresh karma...

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to transform a string to a variable?

Hi all, I'm fairly new to shell scripting. My problem: I'm getting a string, "$XXOGL_TOP", from a database table. I then want to get the value of this variable in the shell script (which is a search path). But it doesn't dissolve but remains a string "$XXOGL_TOP". Any ideas on how to get the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kerstin
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using awk to log transform a column in a tab-delimited text file?

How do I use awk to log transform the fifth column of a tab-delimited text file? Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: evelibertine
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to log transform a text file?

How can I log transform (log 2) a text file which is a single column of numbers? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: evelibertine
4 Replies

4. Programming

STL transform question

Hi all, I pass to the transform algorithm two vectors, and the suma function. #include <algorithm> #include <iostream> #include <iterator> #include <vector> using namespace std; class Duo{ public: int one; int two; }; Duo suma(Duo first, Duo last){ Duo ret; ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: santiagorf
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to log transform on matrix file