Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Condition test ( [[ ]] ) doubt Post 302132448 by thambi on Friday 17th of August 2007 02:52:59 AM
Old 08-17-2007

Thanks. What is the difference between "[[ ]]" and "if" ?.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with test condition in shell script

I'm new to scripting and I need help with a bourn shell script. What i'm trying to do is a test condition where "if the time is within 2 hours, it's true" and so on. The time is in the following format DATE=`/bin/date +"%Y%m%d%H%S"` for example, 20060907152000. So, what the script first... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: pieman8080
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

test and if condition

Guys look at this: i have to write a script that takes a file as an argument. The script should be able to determine what permissions the owner, group and everybody has for the file passed in. The output should be displayed similar to this. READ WRITE EXECUTE OWNER LEE.BALLANCORE YES YES NO... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: ciroredz
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Condition test

Hi there, When I try to do a condition on test: $ str1=abcd $ test $str1 $ echo $? 0 Is there anyway to display the answer to be 'TRUE' or 'YES'? rather than 0? If so, how can I do it without using awk or sed. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: felixwhoals
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

IF condition doubt

Hi i found the following code in a date calculation script. if ((!(year%100))); then ((!(year%400))) && leap=1 else ((!(year%4))) && leap=1 fi I have not find such an use of if statement till now. As for my knowledge this is the syntax of if statement if then ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ravi raj kumar
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test condition