Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to know if a string contains a certain pattern Post 302130856 by firdousamir on Wednesday 8th of August 2007 05:00:30 AM
Old 08-08-2007
echo $string1 | grep -c $string2

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to get the last part of a string followed by a pattern

assuming "cat" is the pattern, string (regardless length) asdadfcat4 I need to get 4 for eirtrjkkkcat678- I'd get 678 (in b-shell) Thanks in advance!!! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bluemoon1
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare string to a pattern

I am new to unix and need to learn how to compare a variable $subject to a string pattern. If the variable has the word "Item" in it then it should be true. How do I do this? Currently I am using the Bourne shell but I can also use Korn or Bash. I come from a Rexx background where strings are... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jerryte
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to search for a pattern a string?

Hi all, I'm new in UNIX , so how to check if stringA is present within stringB ? Something similar to INSTR function in pl sql... Thanks a lot. (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: Leo_NN
12 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looking for pattern next to variable string

Hi, I need to help to find the way to get specific data from a log, an unknow string beside a string that is the same always, for example: Input file: ctmdefine -TASKTYPE COMMAND -TABLE PRUEBAS_BIMLAR -JOBNAME PRUEBAJOB12 \ -GROUP PRUEBAS_BIM2 -APPLICATION PRUEBAS_BIM2 -NODEGRP gtwtran... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mgcorona
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

extract a string within a string using a pattern