Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: cut sed grep or other?
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting cut sed grep or other? Post 302129829 by ghostdog74 on Wednesday 1st of August 2007 10:55:55 PM
Old 08-01-2007
Code:
# var=12345676776
# echo ${var%*??}

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep and cut....

hi, i have a simple question: in hpux 11i; this cmd : cat mailtest |grep sekar >test1 gives the output file with the name test1. i want to remove the line which contains the "sekar" and put the result in the new file.... what is the command for that?.. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sekar sundaram
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed, grep, cut or combine?

I am a beginner at shell scripting, actually i am working on my first script right now. Anyway i have searched the world how to grep two letters from each word (it will always just be two words). For example: Example Blablabla I want my script to cut out Ex (from the first word) and Bl... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: maskot
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep and cut problem

Hello folks, I have to (e)grep out a certain pattern e.g. <TAG1> from a huge log file which does not have any space as such. The thing is that once I have 'grep'ed out the <TAG1> from the file I need to extract the content within the tags, i.e, <TAG1>Data_To_Be_Extracted</TAG1> The underlined... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rajat
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed Awk Cut Grep Combination Help ?

I have been reading for a few hours trying to educate myself enough to accomplish this task, so please know I have performed some research. Unfortunately, I am not a *NIX scripting expert, or a coder. I come from a network background instead. SO, here is my desired outcome. I have some Cisco... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: abbzer0
5 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Awk/sed solution for grep,cut