Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: To write to console and file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting To write to console and file Post 302129252 by harikamamidala on Monday 30th of July 2007 07:28:01 AM
Old 07-30-2007
To write to console and file

Hi,

How can i redirect the traces to both the console and to a file..
The way i was doing was:

/home/harika/harika/samp.exe
if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
echo "executed the first exe.." >> /dev/console;/home/harika/harika/trace.txt

/home/harika/harika/memset.exe
echo "executed the second exe..." >> /dev/console;/home/harika/harika/trace.txt

else
echo " the first executable is not properly executed..." >> /dev/console;/home/harika/harika/trace.txt
fi

Its giving me error as permission denied.. I have logged as root user and even changed the permissions of the /dev/console to 777...

Regards,
Harika

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

/dev/console file

Hello, I am fairly new to UNIX. I ran command tty on my shell prompt and it return me /dev/console. I was reading in the book that normally output of tty command is tty01 , tty02 or so on. My question is this is the file for my monitor? UNIX called it Terminal or Workstation? What is this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: malikabid
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do i access (mount, read & write) a floppy disk from the console, not being root?

welll, the title quite explains what i want to do thanks for your time! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kfaday
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

WRITE a message in console

Hi all, I have a requirement, where I need to do some calculations and based on the results I need to write a message to the user from a shell script. Is it possible to `write' inside the script? Something like the below one.. #! /bin/ksh write user12 << EOF Hello World <<EOF For... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: guruparan18
2 Replies