Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Determining directory path
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Determining directory path Post 302127587 by cwalsek on Wednesday 18th of July 2007 05:15:35 PM
Old 07-18-2007
Determining directory path

Hello,

I have a script where I get the full directory path of the script being executed:

BASE=$0
echo "BASE:" $BASE

The output looks like this:
BASE: /webapps/appsdev/ACURA/rlz/oses3.sh

I'd like to truncate the shell name, leaving just the directory path. The directory path can be any number of levels deep. I think I need to truncate everything right of the last slash in the string.

Any ideas? I'm new at this.

-Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Determining absolute PATH within KSH script

Hey everyone, I'd like to determine the absolute path of where a script resides from within the same script. For example, I have a script - /tmp/myscript. Regardless of how that script is call - '/tmp/myscript', 'cd /tmp;./myscript', '. /tmp/myscript' - I'd like to be able to determine - from... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gsatch
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

determining actual directory of a symlinked directory

Hello all, I have files at /var/dir1/dir2/fil1.log etc.,. dir2 is symlinked to /export/xxx/dir3 I am trying to monitor the disk space of the mount where these log files are present. How do I determine dynamically the actual directory of the log files and corresponding mount when I use df... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: chiru_h
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to get directory name from its path?

If I the path to a directory, what command can I use to return the actual name of that directory. test=`pwd`/folder1 > $test folder1 I'd rather avoid anything with regular expressions. Any ideas? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ordano
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting